Apple’s iPhone 18 Pro and Pro Max have reportedly attracted more than seven million preorders across China’s sales channels. The strong response contrasts with a less enthusiastic assessment of US preorders by analyst Jeff Pu. The surge comes as Apple’s European regulatory documents reveal larger batteries, with the Pro Max recording the bigger capacity increase. China preorders surge despite higher prices Preorders opened at 8pm on Saturday, September 12. Retailer JD reportedly exhausted its available allocation in under a minute, although its initial stock remains undisclosed. Other retailers reported similar demand. Tmall’s preorder revenue from the two models reached twice the level generated by their iPhone 17 Pro predecessors last year. However, revenue growth does not directly establish how many additional phones customers ordered. Both models cost CNY1,000 more than their 2025 equivalents. Read More: New Leak Suggests Standard iPhone 18 Could Arrive in 2027 The iPhone 18 Pro starts at CNY10,000, while the Pro Max begins at CNY11,000. Around 60% of buyers reportedly chose the smaller Pro, reversing the Pro Max’s usual lead. Its lighter build appears to be a draw: the Pro weighs 211g, compared with the Pro Max’s 249g. Burgundy emerged as the most popular colour. Its reported appeal includes a Chinese-language association between the colour’s name and “prosperity”. The seven-million figure represents reported preorders, rather than confirmed deliveries or an Apple-announced sales total. Pro Max gets the larger battery increase Apple’s European product information sheets list a 4,056mAh battery for the iPhone 18 Pro and 5,391mAh for the Pro Max. These figures cover models with physical SIM trays. Their predecessors carried 3,988mAh and 4,823mAh batteries, respectively. The Pro therefore gains 68mAh, or 1.7%, while the Pro Max adds 568mAh, or 11.8%. The 6.3-inch Pro also accommodates an A20 Pro processor and a larger vapour chamber. Read More: Apple Upgrade Leasing May Launch for iPhones, Macs and iPads Apple says the smaller model now matches last year’s Pro Max battery life. Its 2nm A20 Pro chip and C2 modem offer potential efficiency gains, with the modem reportedly consuming 15% less energy. European endurance ratings reach 52 hours for the Pro, up from 47, and 62 hours for the Pro Max, up from 53. Both carry ratings of at least 1,000 charging cycles. These standardised endurance figures differ from Apple’s video-playback claims. EU smartphone energy-labelling requirements took effect on June 20, 2025, under Regulation 2023/1669. They require product information sheets containing rated battery capacity. eSIM battery capacities remain estimates Apple sells eSIM-only iPhones in 12 markets, including the United States, Japan, Saudi Arabia and the UAE. Removing the SIM tray frees space for a larger battery. Apple puts the benefit at two additional hours of video playback. Last year’s eSIM-only Pro and Pro Max carried 4,252mAh and 5,088mAh batteries. Applying similar capacity gains suggests roughly 4,320mAh and 5,655mAh for the new eSIM models. Those figures remain estimates, not published Apple specifications.
Wrong Traffic Fine? Punjab Introduces Online E-Challan Review
The Punjab Safe Cities Authority (PSCA) has introduced an online review facility that allows motorists to challenge incorrect e-challans (electronic traffic fines0 The service enables residents to submit complaints and supporting evidence without visiting a government office. It offers a digital route for motorists who believe the system has wrongly identified their vehicle or recorded a violation. PSCA says it will cancel an incorrect challan within 24 hours if a review confirms an error. Submitting a complaint alone does not guarantee cancellation. The facility comes amid complaints about incorrect e-challans in Pakistan’s major cities. How to challenge an incorrect e-challan Motorists can visit echallan.psca.gop.pk, access the review section, upload supporting evidence and submit the complaint form. The portal’s search page requires a vehicle registration number and either the owner’s CNIC or the vehicle’s chassis number. These details allow users to locate their challan record. Read More: Karachi’s Traffic Crisis Sparks Major Underground Rail Proposal Motorists can examine the photographic evidence attached to the fine before submitting a review request. The photograph, vehicle details, location and recorded time provide the basis for checking the alleged offence. The online process removes the need for an initial visit to a government office, making it easier to raise a dispute. The announcement does not specify accepted document formats or a deadline for requesting a review. It also does not clarify whether submitting a complaint changes the challan’s payment deadline. How Punjab’s e-challan system works PSCA operates an integrated public safety and traffic-management network through its command, control and communication infrastructure. Thousands of high-definition cameras support monitoring in cities including Lahore, Rawalpindi, Multan, Faisalabad and Gujranwala. The network assists police with crime prevention, investigations and traffic enforcement. Its AI-powered system identifies offences including speeding, red-light breaches, wrong-way driving, mobile phone use, and helmet, seatbelt and number plate violations. PSCA currently lists 21 traffic violations among its artificial intelligence initiatives. When the system detects an offence, cameras photograph the vehicle and capture its number plate. They also record the location and time. The system stores the evidence in a central database, generates an electronic challan and sends a notification to the owner’s registered mobile number. The round-the-clock operation aims to improve road discipline and reduce accidents through technology-based enforcement. Paying fines and identifying fake messages Motorists can check their fines and related photographic evidence through the official PSCA portal. They can make payments through the e-Pay Punjab application or a banking app using a Payment System Identifier, commonly called a PSID. Read More: How to Challenge a Wrong E-Challan Through the PSCA Portal Authorities have also warned residents about fraudulent messages that impersonate official e-challan notifications. Genuine notifications come from 9915, contain no payment link and do not request a bank account number. Motorists should use the official portal to verify a challan before making a payment. Unpaid fines may attract additional penalties or legal proceedings under the applicable enforcement process.
KP Reopens Green Mining Operations With One Key Condition
The Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Home Department has allowed green mining operations to resume across all districts, with a condition prohibiting explosives. An official notification permits surface mining and other related activities at green mines. It also declares green mining projects to be projects of national interest. The department based its decision on a clearance letter issued on September 10, according to the notification cited in the report. District administrations and law enforcement agencies must take the necessary measures to facilitate the resumption of operations. Explosives remain outside the permission The notification gives green mines permission to restart activities without using explosives. Its reported scope covers surface mining and associated work at these sites across the province. Read More: Bank Alfalah and UK’s BII Join Hands to Fund Pakistan’s Green Future The distinction matters for operators assessing whether they can resume extraction. The permission described applies specifically to green mining operations that meet the condition on explosives. District authorities to facilitate operations The Home Department has assigned district administrations and law enforcement agencies a direct role in facilitating the revival. The notification’s national-interest designation accompanies that instruction, placing responsibility for implementation with authorities across KP’s districts. However, the reported text does not provide a district-by-district reopening schedule or explain how officials will assess individual sites. Separately, KP’s Minerals Development Department operates a Mining Cadastre Portal for engagement with mineral-sector stakeholders. The official portal describes its purpose as improving transparency and the ease of doing business in the province. It provides an electronic platform through which stakeholders can engage directly with the department. That existing administrative platform offers wider context for mining-sector management. Separate Karachi case highlights illegal extraction The source report also recalled a separate enforcement operation in Karachi’s Malir district last year. That incident concerned alleged illegal sand and gravel extraction and had no stated connection to KP’s decision. Police arrested two suspects during a joint raid with the Mines and Minerals Department. Read More: $3.8 Billion Olympic Stadium Plan Sparks Debate Over Green Space According to police, the suspects used heavy machinery to remove large quantities of river silt from the Malir River. Authorities seized two dumpers along with loaders and moved the equipment to a police station. Police alleged that the group extracted sand under cover of darkness. The current KP notification concerns the resumption of green mining within that province, subject to its explicit restriction on explosives.
Rs3 Million Digital Financing: What Small Business Owners Should Know
The Securities and Exchange Commission of Pakistan (SECP) has approved Shaamilkar Tajir, a digital application offering eligible small businesses Shariah-compliant financing of up to Rs3 million. SECP-licensed Shaamilkar Financial Services developed the application to help micro-entrepreneurs purchase inventory from approved suppliers through a simpler, faster digital process. The commission announced the approval on Friday, September 18. It said the initiative would bring underserved businesses into the formal credit system and help them expand their operations. The approval supports the federal government’s Access to Finance agenda for small and medium enterprises and other priority sectors. Financing for inventory purchases Shaamilkar Tajir focuses on financing the goods businesses need to stock and sell. The Rs3 million ceiling applies to eligible businesses seeking financing through the application. According to the company’s website, the platform uses Murabaha, a Shariah-compliant cost-plus sale structure. Under this arrangement, Shaamilkar purchases goods and sells them to the customer at a pre-agreed markup. Read More: Askari Bank Becomes First to Connect Directly With SECP Registry The company outlines a process that starts when a trader submits a supplier’s invoice and requests financing. The supplier validates the invoice before Shaamilkar buys the goods and offers the trader financing terms. After accepting the offer, the trader takes possession of the goods and repays Shaamilkar according to the agreement. The model connects financing directly to inventory purchases. It gives small businesses a formal route to obtain stock while spreading payment according to agreed terms. SECP stresses responsible digital financing “Technology-enabled financing can expand access to formal credit for underserved businesses,” SECP Chairman Dr Kabir Ahmed Sidhu said. He added that the commission would facilitate responsible digital financing while ensuring regulatory oversight and consumer protection. His remarks placed access to credit and borrower safeguards at the centre of the approval. SECP presented the application as a way to reach businesses that existing financing channels do not adequately serve. Read More: SECP and VEON Expand Pakistan Digital Financial Services The announcement did not specify detailed eligibility criteria, repayment periods or the applicable profit rate. It also did not identify the approved suppliers. The company says it will disclose the financing cost, agreed markup, repayment schedule and applicable fees before customers sign an agreement. Its website identifies AlHamd Shariah Advisory Services as the supervisor of its product structures and operations. These details distinguish the announced maximum financing limit from the individual terms that customers would receive. NBFCs extend Rs253 billion to businesses The approval comes alongside substantial lending by licensed non-banking finance companies, or NBFCs, to smaller enterprises. Between July 2025 and June 2026, licensed lending NBFCs provided approximately Rs253 billion through 2.5 million loans to micro, small and medium enterprises. Those figures cover lending across the licensed sector during the previous financial year. They do not represent disbursements through Shaamilkar Tajir. The latest approval adds a digital, Shariah-compliant inventory-financing option to that wider market, with SECP targeting greater participation by underserved businesses.
Pakistan’s Freelancers Add $108m to Export Earnings in Two Months
Pakistan’s freelancers earned $352 million from exports during July-August 2026, a 44% increase over the same period last year. The figures mark a strong start to financial year 2026-27. Freelancers brought in $244 million during July-August 2025, according to State Bank of Pakistan data cited by The News. The increase translates into an additional $108 million in export receipts within two months. It comes as Pakistani freelancers expand their international client base and offer services across IT and non-IT fields. IT services lead export earnings Freelancers providing IT-related services earned $212 million during the period, while non-IT service providers generated $139 million, the report said. IT services therefore accounted for around three-fifths of the reported total. Non-IT work also contributed substantially, highlighting the breadth of Pakistan’s freelance export activity. Read More: Pakistan’s Freelancers Shine Globally as Earnings Hit $856 Million With 50% Surge The reported sector figures add up to $351 million, slightly below the headline total of $352 million. The report did not explain the $1 million difference. Pakistan Freelancers Association (PAFLA) Chairperson Ibrahim Amin said Pakistani freelancers continued to strengthen their presence on international freelancing platforms. He said rising export receipts reflected that growing footprint. AI skills and agency work gain ground “Our freelancers are fast learners and quick to acquire in-demand skills, particularly in AI tools and applications,” Amin said. His comments point to how freelancers are adapting their services as overseas clients seek new technical capabilities. Amin said many freelancers now work in teams rather than operating individually. These teams provide multiple services through agencies registered on international platforms. That approach allows groups of freelancers to combine different skills within a single service offering. However, the report did not specify how much export income came from agencies or AI-related work. Amin also praised the government, private sector and non-governmental organisations for organising IT and skills-development courses across different cities. He said these initiatives equipped young people with market-oriented skills alongside their academic qualifications. His remarks highlighted practical training as an important part of preparing Pakistanis for international freelance work. Banking measures support freelance exports Pakistan has also introduced banking measures to help freelancers receive and manage overseas earnings through formal channels. In October 2023, the SBP issued a framework allowing freelancers to open a rupee account alongside an Exporters’ Special Foreign Currency Account. The framework provided for account opening either in person or remotely through digital channels. In a separate circular that month, the central bank increased foreign-currency retention limits for eligible exporters from 35% to 50%. Read More: SBP Eases Forex Rules, Lets Freelancers Retain Up to $5,000 Monthly to Boost IT Exports The measure covered software, IT, IT-enabled services and freelance exports. It also permitted current-account payments abroad from retained funds without prior SBP approval. Those measures aimed to encourage exporters to bring additional foreign exchange into Pakistan. The latest reported earnings show a substantial year-on-year increase, although the data cited does not isolate the contribution of individual policy measures.
Trump Backs Major Saudi Fighter Upgrade With $24.3bn F-35 Plan
The United States has approved a potential $24.3 billion F-35 fighter jet sale to Saudi Arabia, marking a major step in defence ties. The proposal still faces congressional review before the two countries can finalise the deal. The State Department announced the approval on Thursday as the kingdom faces growing involvement in conflict across the Middle East. The package includes 48 Lockheed Martin F-35 Lightning II aircraft and 49 Pratt & Whitney engines. It also covers communications equipment, spare parts and other support items. Saudi Arabia directly requested the jets from President Donald Trump in early 2025, following years of interest in the aircraft. The proposed purchase would give Riyadh roughly two squadrons of advanced stealth fighters. Saudi embassy welcomes proposed deal The Saudi embassy in Washington welcomed the announcement as another step in the countries’ defence partnership. “The proposed F-35 sale reflects the strength and enduring nature of the Saudi-US strategic partnership and the continued advancement of our defence cooperation,” the embassy said on X. The proposed F-35 sale reflects the strength and enduring nature of the Saudi-U.S. strategic partnership and the continued advancement of our defense cooperation. For decades, Saudi-U.S. security cooperation has contributed to regional stability, strengthened our collective… https://t.co/IOurlYEcbl — Saudi Embassy USA (@SaudiEmbassyUSA) September 18, 2026 Saudi Arabia, the largest customer for American arms, wants the aircraft to modernise its air force and counter regional threats. Its existing fighter fleet includes Boeing F-15s, European Tornados and Typhoons. Adding F-35s would introduce advanced stealth capabilities designed to make aircraft harder for enemy radar systems to detect. However, approval would not mean immediate delivery. Axios reported that the first aircraft would take several years to reach Saudi Arabia, even if the deal proceeds. Israel’s military edge comes into focus The proposed sale could reshape regional military capabilities and test Washington’s commitment to preserving Israel’s “qualitative military edge”. That policy guides American weapons sales across the Middle East, seeking to maintain Israel’s military superiority over potential regional adversaries. Israel has operated F-35s for around a decade and built multiple squadrons. It remains the only Middle Eastern country operating the aircraft, widely regarded as among the world’s most advanced fighter jets. Read More: Trump Promises Every American $5,000 if Republicans Win A Saudi acquisition would therefore represent a significant shift in American policy towards supplying advanced aircraft to Arab partners. The issue also carries diplomatic weight. Former president Joe Biden’s administration explored supplying F-35s within a broader agreement involving Saudi normalisation with Israel. Those negotiations ultimately stalled. Defence ties expand under Trump Trump has prioritised Saudi arms sales since returning to office, signalling support for deeper military cooperation with Riyadh. In 2025, Washington agreed to sell the kingdom an arms package worth nearly $142 billion. The White House described it as “the largest defence cooperation agreement” Washington had ever concluded. Read More: Saudi Arabia Targets Over 500,000 Jobs With New SME Strategy The proposed F-35 purchase also aligns with Crown Prince Mohammed bin Salman’s Vision 2030 programme, which includes economic and military modernisation. Riyadh has pursued wider defence partnerships while preserving its longstanding security relationship with Washington. Congressional scrutiny now represents the next major stage for the proposed fighter sale.